The ABC is worth fighting for!

We are former employees of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation who believe passionately in the need for a fearless and independent national broadcaster as a vital part of Australian democracy 

ABC Alumni believes a strong public service broadcaster is essential in a healthy democracy.  

We are a united group of former ABC employees mobilising their skills to help save the ABC, at a time when it is under sustained attack though funding cuts, job losses and political pressure. 

We are a national organisation which provides public speakers, articles and research, and assists other like-minded groups in campaigning for a strong public service media.  

We also train and mentor current ABC staff, and organise social and other events to harness our collective knowledge and experience.   

The Alumni is an entirely independent company limited by guarantee, with no affiliation or partnership with any lobby group or other organisation, aside from a working relationship from time-to-time with ABC Friends.

ABC Alumni representatives at a rally in Melbourne, 2019: l-r John Cleary, Dr Gael Jennings, Quentin Dempster, Maxine McKew, Matt Peacock, Kerry O’Brien

How you can get involved

You can join ABC Alumni if you’ve worked one full-time year for the ABC or its part-time equivalent. If you’re not ex-ABC but support our objectives, please join as an Associate. 

Contact us if you can help us establish a presence in your area. You can be involved wherever you are. Your suggestions and offers of help are welcome at ABCAlumniAustralia@gmail.com 

ABC Alumni is a registered not-for-profit company limited by guarantee (ACN 628 088 371, ABN 85628088371). We are registered as a charity with the Australian Charities & Not-for-profits Commission for the purpose of advancing education and public debate about the ABC, and establishing a scholarship fund.

Board, Committees, Services


Click on Alumni names to view brief biography.

Jonathan Holmes (Chair)

Helen Grasswill (Deputy Chair)

Janet Clayton (Company Secretary & Treasurer)

Quentin Dempster

Heather Forbes

Peter Marks

Alan Sunderland

State Branches

VIC: Peter Marks

ACT: Phil Williams

Tas:  David Brill, Deborah Fleming

QLD: Trish Lake, Mark Hayes

WA: Bill Bunbury

SA and NT: TBA


Website: Janet Clayton, Peter Marks, Helen Grasswill

Social Media: Heather Forbes (supervisor)

Technical Support: Peter Marks, Rob Garnsey

Administration: Helen Grasswill, Janet Clayton, Heather Forbes

Membership: Janet Clayton, Heather Forbes

Newsletters: Jonathan Holmes

Training/Reviewing/Mentoring: Sue Spencer, Peter McEvoy

International: Vivien Altman

Rural & Regional: Wendy Borchers

Government: Jonathan Holmes, Helen Grasswill

Campaigns: Quentin Demptser, Greg Wilesmith, Anne Maria Nicholson

Campaign Videos: Jonathan Holmes, Bruce Belsham, Peter McEvoy, Peter Marks

Events: Sharon Carleton

Media, Public Relations & Website Articles: Helen Grasswill

ABC 90th Anniversary: Helen Grasswill, Sue Spencer, Wendy Borchers

David Taylor, Tanya Segelov  

Segelov Taylor Lawyers Sydney
Suite 802, Level 8
307 Pitt Street
Sydney NSW 2000  



Mark Rosen

Business Ignition Group Sydney